SAM9x35-ek, Keil, Atmel SW package and SAM-BA, total novice

Discussion around AT91RM9200 and SAM9 Series Products.

Moderator: nferre

caspelin

SAM9x35-ek, Keil, Atmel SW package and SAM-BA, total novice

Mon May 07, 2012 8:54 am

Hello,

Beginners (well, total novice at the moment) questios about flashing SAM9x35-ek with SAM-BA (via USB).

My current setup includes the Atmel's SAM9x35-ek board, Keil uVision 4.5 (with the Atmel's SW package: SAM9X35-EK MDK Software Package for Keil uVision4, 1) ) and the SAM-BA 2.11 to program the board using USB.

I started my experiments by installing different linux packages from the "Getting Started page for AT91SAM9x5 family" 2), and everything works as planned. I am able to flash the Angstrom to the NAND flash, and run it. But how I can test some sample codes provided by Atmel as standalone applications, without any OS on the board?

For example the getting-started project provided by Atmel on their SW package. On the comments, in section "Usage" they state, that "Build the program and download it inside the evaluation board"... And this is the point, where I'm stuck. I am able to build the program, but I'm not sure how to download it to the board, or how to run standalone applications on this board. I found some information about SAM9 MPU boot solution, and if I have understood correctly, the first level boot loader copies second level boot loader (AT91Bootstrap) from DATAFlash (0x0000 ?) to SRAM (0x300000 ?), which should copy the application (0x8400, again ? ) itself to the SDRAM (0x20000000)? Is it so? Do I really need all these boot loaders to run simple code on the board? Do I need the AT91Bootstrap from 3), or from 4), since the package from 3) doesn't mentioned SAM9x35 (or SAM9x5)... Besides, can I use NandFlash, SerialFlash or even SD card for this?