Newby SAM7 USB Programming questions

Discussion about SAM7 Series and ARM7TDMI based products.

Moderator: nferre

nky_bri

Newby SAM7 USB Programming questions

Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:56 am

Hello all. I apologize in advance if my question is a dumb one...

I'm new to the ARM world and would like to set myself straight on the programming options for an Olimex SAM7-256 USB board that I just purchased.

I want to experiment with this board and will be programming/reprogramming it quite often. Can I do this via USB and Atmel AT91-ISP utility without an external JTAG programmer? I know that the SAM-BA and the boot assist can be used but believe that it can only be programmed around 100 times with this method.

I've tried to find the answer to this on my own but am a bit confused :oops:

Thanks in advance for any help.
dariens_haircut

Re: Newby SAM7 USB Programming questions

Fri Jul 25, 2008 8:15 pm

Oddly, nobody ever seems to mention that, so kudos to you for noticing.

The 100 times thing is the number of write/erase cycles that the NVM bits (such as those for page locking) can endure. Unfortunately, reloading the SAM-BA bootloader with the TST pin locks the first page, and you have to unlock it before programming your firmware at address 0x100000.

You could, however, start loading FLASH at 0x102000 (or maybe even 0x101000), which would not overwrite the bootloader (and would not require you to unlock blocks). You would then have to use SAM-BA to start execution at that address. You, of course, would only be able to load images up to 248KB (or maybe even 252 KB) that way. See this thread for more info.

The FLASH endurance of 10000 cycles is far better than the NVM endurance of 100 cycles. This method also saves you from having to do the TST pin dance all the time.